Free Summer Movies

It’s basically Summer in the city now and, even though I prefer to stay inside when it gets too hot, there are some fun things to do if you are around. One of the things is the free movies at the parks around the city. You can bring food, blanket, friends, and have some fun watching a movie. Here is the (big) list of the movies, dates and parks. You should check always before you go here, because they can always change time/movies/location.  Xx

image

 

Monday
HBO Bryant Park Summer Film Festival
June 16: Saturday Night Fever
June 23: The Mark Of Zorro
June 30: A Soldier’s Story
July 7: Blazing Saddles
July 14: Suddenly Last Summer
July 21: National Lampoon’s Vacation
July 28: Key Largo
August 4: The Karate Kid
August 11: Lover Come Back
August 18: The Shining

Tuesday
Summer Movie Nights at mad46
June 10: Caddyshack
June 24: Man of Steel
July 8: Rocky
July 22: Little Shop of Horrors
August 5: Skyfall 
August 19: Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
September 9: Gravity

Wednesday
Close Encounters of the Spielberg Kind, Museum of Jewish Heritage (indoors, all films start at 6:30pm)
June 25: Raiders of the Lost Ark
July 2: Saving Private Ryan 
July 9: Jurassic Park
July 16: Amistad
July 23: Close Encounters of the Third Kind
July 30: Schindler’s List 
August 6: Jaws
August 13: E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial

Hudson River Park’s RiverFlicks Big Hit Wednesdays on Pier 63
July 9: Iron Man 3
July 16: American Hustle
July 23: This Is the End
July 30: The Lego Movie
August 6: Lone Survivor
August 13: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
August 20: Captain Phillips

Summer on the Hudson: Pier I Picture Show, Riverside Park [PDF]
July 9: Clueless
July 16: Back to the Future
July 23: Harold and Maude
July 30: The Princess Bride
August 6: Anchors Aweigh
August 13: The Outsiders

SummerScreen in McCarren Park
July 9: Back to the Future
July 16: Zoolander
July 23: Cry-Baby
July 30: Heathers 
August 6: The Big Lebowski
August 13: Audience Pick

Outdoor Cinema at Socrates Sculpture Park
July 2: Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
July 9: La Pirogue
July 16: The Deadly Ponies Gang
July 23: Umberto D.
July 30: Viola
August 6: Forest Of The Dancing Spirits
August 13: 13 Assassins
August 20: Microcosmos

Thursday
Syfy Movies with a View at Brooklyn Bridge Park
July 10: Duck Soup
July 17: Sharknado
July 24: Fantastic Mr. Fox 
July 31: Beetlejuice 
August 7: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof 
August 14: Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai 
August 21: The Birds
August 28: Public Vote

Friday
Hudson River Park’s RiverFlicks Family Fridays on Pier 46
July 11: Despicable Me 2   
July 18: Ghostbusters
July 25: Ghostbusters II
August 1: Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2
August 8: Groundhog Day    
August 15: The Smurfs 2
August 22: The Wizard of Oz

Celebrate Brooklyn! at Prospect Park Bandshell
July 25: Amandla: A Revolution in Four-Part Harmony

Films on the Green
May 30: Purple Noon
June 6: Les Tontons Flingueurs
June 13: Buffet Froid 
June 20: The Women on the 6th Floor
June 27: La Haine
July 11: The Moustache
July 18: Grand Illusion 
July 25: Le Magnifique
August 1: 2 Autumns, 3 Winters
September 4: The French Minister

Saturday
Sony Wonder Technology Lab Feature Screenings (indoors; reserve your spot two weeks prior to each show)
May 10: WALL-E, 3pm
May 17: The Iron Giant, 3pm
May 24: Short Circuit, 3pm
May 31: Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla, 3pm
June 7: The Monuments Men, 12:15pm
June 7: After Earth, 3pm
June 14: The Past, 12:15pm
June 14: Think Like a Man, 3pm
June 21: The Social Network, 12:15pm
June 21: Searching for Sugar Man, 3pm
June 28: Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, 12:15pm
June 28: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, 3pm

Sunday
Movie Night at Habana Outpost, Brooklyn (all films start at 8pm)
May 11: Crooklyn
May 18: Fist of Fury
May 25: Police Academy
June 1: Poetic Justice
June 8: Salsa
June 15: Victory
June 22: Coming to America
June 29: Black Orpheus 
July 6: Top Gun
July 13: The Outsiders
July 20: Heathers
July 27: Tootsie
August 3: 9 to 5
August 10: Singin’ in the Rain
August 17: West Side Story
August 24: Purple Rain
August 31: The Bodyguard
September 7: Hoosiers 
September 14: Wild Style
September 21: The Big Lebowski
September 28: Foxy Brown
October 5: E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
October 12: Dog Day Afternoon
October 19: The Shining
October 26: The Twilight Zone Marathon

Various Days
Intrepid Summer Movie Series, Intrepid flight deck
Friday, May 23: Top Gun
Thursday, July 10: Independence Day
Thursday, July 17: Gravity
Thursday, July 24: Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
Thursday, July 31: The Hunt for Red October
Thursday, August 7: Spaceballs
Thursday, August 14: Captain Phillips

Movies at Crocheron Park (all films start at 8pm)
Friday, May 30: Super Buddies
Friday, June 6: Brave
Friday, June 13: Tangled
Tuesday, August 12: Despicable Me 2
Tuesday, August 19: Monsters University
Tuesday, August 26: Europa Report

Rooftop Films 2014 Summer Series  (check official website for locations)
70 Hester Street
The Case of the Three Sided Dream
Cold in July (RSVP required)
Cruising Electric
The Cut
Dawn
Fear of Flying
Goodbye Rabbit, Hop Hop
Hacked Circuit
I Think This Is the Closest to How the Footage Looked
Jonathan’s Chest
Love in the Times of March Madness
Marilyn Myller
More Than Two Hours
Mr. Lamb
Noah
One Year Lease
Rabbit and Deer
Rat Pack Rat
Six
Street Views
Unlocking the Truth
Wind

Front/Row Cinema at South Street Seaport Pier
Friday, May 23: Mission: Impossible 
Saturday, May 24: Ratatouille
Sunday, May 25: Breakfast at Tiffany’s
Wednesday, May 28: The Princess Bride
Saturday, May 31: Jaws 
Wednesday, June 4: Wall-E
Saturday, June 7: Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Wednesday, June 11: The Muppets Take Manhattan
Saturday, June 14: The Breakfast Club
Wednesday, June 18: Rango
Saturday, June 21: The Perks of Being a Wallflower 
Wednesday, June 25: Brave
Wednesday, July 2: The Karate Kid
Saturday, July 5: The Avengers
Wednesday, July 9: Wreck-it Ralph
Saturday, July 12: I Am Legend
Wednesday, July 16: Fantastic Mr. Fox
Saturday, July 19: True Grit
Wednesday, July 23: E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial 
Saturday, July 26: Men in Black 3
Wednesday, July 30: The Goonies
Saturday, August 2: When Harry Met Sally
Wednesday, August 6: The Croods
Saturday, August 9: Four Weddings and a Funeral
Wednesday, August 13: Charlie & the Chocolate Factory
Saturday, August 16: Pitch Perfect
Wednesday, August 20: Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Saturday, August 23: The Aviator
Wednesday, August 27: Frozen
Saturday, August 30: Crazy, Stupid, Love.
Sunday, August 31: Skyfall

 

image-1

(info: nygo.com)

Advertisements

2 Replies to “Free Summer Movies”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s