Bedtime Routine at 20 months

When it comes to bedtime routine, I think every family has its own and you have to do what works for you and the kids. It can be tricky,  but my only advice is to keep it simple and be consistent. Since D was born, I knew I wanted to get him used to go to bed early. Of course that doesn’t count for the first two months or so… that was messy and its fine!

I’m a stay at home mom and I love that, but I need my sanity too! Getting him to bed early was essencial for our family. D is almost 21 months now and he goes to bed around 7:30pm. He wakes up around 7am and trust me, that doesn’t matter the time he goes to bed! He has been an early riser since day one. I guess he is totally his dad! So here is how we keep it simple… and I want to say we are flexible too when we need to change, when we’re traveling or anything like that.

His dinner is around 6:30pm. After that I let him play for a little bit while I clean up the kitchen. I brush his teeth and give him a shower, yes, a shower. Dylan hasn’t been taking baths since he turned one and I have to say that this is the best thing EVER! It’s simple, easy, quick! He stands up and play with a few toys.. His favorite thing now is to pump soap from the body wash bottle and pretend he washes his hands and the toys. We use Babyganics body wash and love it. Too bad Dylan likes to “waste” part of the bottle washing Mickey Mouse, haha.

IMG_2818IMG_2817IMG_2816

Then, we’re off to his room, where I put some moisturize all over his body, change him into his pijamas and we read books. I usually let him choose the books. I don’t have a specific number of books we can read, it all depends what time it is. Then we say all the good nights (he needs to say good night to the cats) and off he goes to his crib. Usually, he is asleep within 5 to 10 minutes… sometimes though he is “talking” too much and it takes him longer.  But most os the time is stays just fine in his crib and doesn’t call us.

IMG_2826
D is clearly getting to big for his changing table!

IMG_2827

So here you go, a very simple and easy bedtime routine. They key is consistency and do what is easier for your family! When we travel, we try do have the little bedtime the same, even though the timing might not be the same. This is what works for us! I’d love to hear what works for you. Xx

IMG_2824

Leave a Reply

